Novice Tournament 1

Novice Tournament 1 was held on the 5th January at Carmel Primary School. The event attracted 48 players with 25 players in the under 9 division, 17 players in the under 12 division and 6 players in the under 18 division. Having insufficient players to play a full 7 round tournament, the under 18s were combined with the under 12s.

The under 9 division was convincingly won by Ezra Levine with a perfect score of 7/7. Lincoln Balaratnasingham, Orlando Salamastrakis and Angus Chen tied for third with 5/7. After countback was taken into account, Lincoln was awarded the second place trophy, Orlando was awarded the third place trophy and Angus received a merit trophy.

In the combined Under12/18 division there was a two-way tie for first place between Shannon Koh and Dylan Chiu, both scoring 6.5/7. The two players had an exciting blitz playoff match to decide the first and second place trophies with Shannon emerging victorious. Atharva Sathe and Jack Ryder tied for third overall with a score of 5/7. Atharva was awarded the third place under 18 trophy, while Jack Ryder received the first place under 12 trophy. There was a three-way tie for fifth place between James Sommerfield, Oliver Tran and Henning Mueller. After countbacks were factored in, James was awarded the second place trophy, Oliver the third place trophy and Henning received a merit trophy.

List of prize winners:

  • =1st Under 18 Shannon Koh – First place trophy and chess book.

  • =1st Under 18 Dylan Chiu – Second place trophy and chess book.

  • 3rd Under 18 Atharva Sathe – Third place trophy.

  • Top under 18 Girl Elle Chentag – Merit trophy and chess book.

  • 2nd under 18 Girl Angela Deng – Medal.

  • 1st Under 12 Jack Ryder – First place trophy and chess book.

  • =2nd Under 12 James Sommerfield – Second place trophy.

  • =2nd Under 12 Oliver Tran – Third place trophy.

  • =2nd Under 12 Henning Mueller – Merit trophy.

  • Top Under 12 Girl Emma Sommerfield – Merit trophy and chess book.

  • =2nd Under 12 Girl Bianca Sader – Medal.

  • =2nd Under 12 Girl Kobe Wu – Medal.

  • =2nd Under 12 Girl Anu Sathe – Medal.

  • 1st Under 9 Ezra Levine – First place trophy and chess book.

  • =2nd Under 9 Lincoln Balaratnasingam – Second place trophy.

  • =2nd Under 9 Orlando Salamastrakis – Third place trophy.

  • =2nd Under 9 Angus Chen – Merit trophy.

  • Top Countback Niranjan Menon – Merit trophy.

  • 5th Under 9 Lucas Gruber – Medal.

  • Top Under 9 Girl Nithuli Liyanage – Merit trophy and chess book.

  • =2nd Under 9 Girl Senudi De Vas – Medal.

  • =2nd Under 9 Girl Naomi Levin – Medal.

  • =2nd Under 9 Girl Mia Cohen – Medal.

A very special thank you should go to the following people:

  • Khristian Bachelli-Khoo for helping set up the playing hall;

  • Daniel Levin and Yonal De Vas for manning the computer for most of the day;

  • Shai Levin for taking the attendance at the door, as well as generously performing many other countless tasks throughout the day;

  • Selena Khoo for organising and laying out the refreshments;

  • Carmel Primary School for making their amazing hall available for the event;

  • And also a big thank you to all the many generous parents and players who helped clean up and pack away everything at the conclusion of the event.

Click on the button below for full tournament results.

Copyright © 2020 Lakner Chess - All Rights Reserved.