The Perth Junior Chess Grand Prix Season Opener was held on the 12th January at Carmel Primary School. The event attracted 54 players with 20 players in the under 9 division, 21 players in the under 12 division and 13 players in the under 18 division.

In the under 9 division, there was a two-way tie for first between Chau Minh Nguyen and Albert Chen, both scoring 6/7. After an intense blitz playoff match, Chau Minh emerged victorious and took the first-place trophy while Albert received the second-place trophy. Ezra Levine and Hardy Dai tied for third place, each scoring 5/7. Their blitz playoff match saw Ezra take the third-place trophy while Hardy was awarded a merit trophy.

The under 12 division was won outright by Anoushka Gupta with a score of 6/7. Daniel Levin gained second place with 5.5/7. There was a two-way tie for third between Yonal De Vas and Oliver Tran. Yonal prevailed in their blitz playoff match and was awarded the third-place trophy, with Oliver Tran receiving a merit trophy.

In the under 18 division there was a two-way tie for first place between Jamie Laubbacher and Christopher Manasseh, both scoring 6/7. The two players had an exciting blitz playoff match to decide the first and second place trophies with Jamie emerging victorious. Benjamin Foster finished outright third with 5/7, having only lost to the two front runners.

List of prize winners:

  • =1st Under 18 Jamie Laubbacher – First place trophy and chess book.

  • =1st Under 18 Christopher Manasseh – Second place trophy and chess book.

  • 3rd Under 18 Benjamin Foster – Third place trophy.

  • =4th Under 18 Alistair Berry – Merit Trophy

  • =4th Under 18 Minh Nguyen – Medal

  • =4th Under 18 Daniel Kong – Medal

  • =4th Under 18 Vinura Elvadura – Medal

  • Highest Countback Pranav Borude – Merit Award

  • 1st Under 12 Anoushka Gupta – First place trophy and chess book.

  • 2nd Under 12 Daniel Levin – Second place trophy.

  • =3rd Under 12 Yonal De Vas – Third place trophy.

  • =3rd Under 12 Oliver Tran – Merit trophy.

  • =5th Under 12 Aarnav Gupta – Merit trophy (also highest countback)

  • =5th Under 12 Ishaan Barbare – Merit trophy

  • Top Under 12 Girl Anoushka Gupta – Medal (in addition to above prizes)

  • 2nd Under 12 Girl Paula Gruber – Merit trophy (also highest countback)

  • 3rd Under 12 Girl Kobe Wu – Medal.

  • =1st Under 9 Chau Minh Nguyen – First place trophy and chess book.

  • =1st Under 9 Albert Chen – Second place trophy and chess book.

  • =3rd Under 9 Ezra Levine – Third place trophy

  • =3rd Under 9 Hardy Dai – Merit trophy

  • =5th Under 9 Isaac Li – Medal

  • =5th Under 9 Lucas Gruber – Medal

  • =5th Under 9 Khristian Bacchelli-Khoo – Medal

  • =5th Under 9 Benjamin Tran – Medal

  • =Top Under 9 Girl Nithuli Liyanage – Medal

  • =Top Under 9 Girl Natalie Levy – Medal

  • =Top Under 9 Girl Senudi De Vas – Medal

  • Countback Award Orlando Salamastrakis – Medal

A very special thank you should go to the following people:

  • The Bachelli-Khoo family for helping set up the playing hall;

  • Shai Levin for countless various tasks throughout the day;

  • Selena Khoo for organising and laying out the refreshments, on top of many other tasks;

  • Alistair Berry for all his help both before and after the tournament;

  • Carmel Primary School for making their hall available for the event;

  • And also a big thank you to all the parents and players who helped clean up and pack away everything at the conclusion of the event.

Click on the button below for full tournament results.

Copyright © 2020 Lakner Chess - All Rights Reserved.