Ron Frank Competition

The Ron Frank Junior Chess Competition was hosted by the Maccabi Junior Chess Club on the 11th July at the site of their venue, the Gordon Bloomfield Hall in Yokine.

The event attracted 58 players who competed in three separate groups: 32 contestants in the under 10 division, 22 contestants in the under 13 division, and 4 contestants in the under 18 division.

The under 10 division was spectacularly won by Anthony Nguyen with a perfect score of 7/7. Iker Hernandez and Barath Harirajesh tied for second place with 5.5/7. After an intense blitz playoff, Iker was awarded second place with Barath gaining third.

The Under 13 Division was won by Alex Pimenov with a score of 6/7. Second place overall went to Jiani Li with 5.5/7, who also took the top girl prize. There was a 3-way tie for third place between Max Murray, Aarnav Gupta and Aaron Levine. Max was awarded the third place trophy due to having a much higher countback.

The Under 18 Division was ran as a 4-player double-round robin. Jamie Laubbacher convincingly won with a score of 6.5/7. Second place was Joshua Shipton with 2.5/7. Christopher Manasseh and Alistair Berry tied for third with 2/7. Christopher was awarded the third place trophy after a blitz playoff.

List of prize winners:

Under 18:

1st Jamie Laubbacher - Trophy and $100 cash.

2nd Joshua Shipton – Trophy.

=3rd Christopher Manasseh – Trophy.

=3rd Alistair Berry – Medal.

Under 13:

1st Alex Pimenov –Trophy and $50 cash.

2nd Jiani Li – Trophy.

=3rd Max Murray – Trophy

=3rd Aarnav Gupta – Merit Trophy

=3rd Aaron Levine – Merit Trophy

6th Minh Nguyen - Medal

Top Girl Jiani Li – Medal

2nd Girl Ariella Schwarz – Medal

3rd Girl Anoushka Gupta – Medal

Under 10:

1st Anthony Nguyen – Trophy and $50 cash.

=2nd Iker Hernandez – Trophy.

=2nd Barath Harirajesh – Trophy.

=4th Yonal De Vas – Merit Trophy

=4th Tian Teh – Merit Trophy

=4th Hardy Dai – Merit Trophy

=7th Raphael Resnick – Medal

=7th Mario Bossilkov – Medal

Top Girl Rika Balytsok – Merit Trophy

=2nd Girl Mia Cohen – Medal

=2nd Girl Senudi De Vas – Medal

=2nd Girl Naomi Levin – Medal

5th Girl Natalie Levy – Medal

Encouragement Award: Eric Young - Medal

A very special thanks should go to the following:

Saul frank for donating all the trophies, merit awards and cash prizes in honour of his father Ron Frank, whom the tournament was named after.

Shai Levin, the Maccabi Junior Chess Club coordinator, who put in countless hours work behind the scenes, both during and prior to the event, ensuring it would be a success.

The many generous parents of participants who helped both before and on the day of the event.

Full tournament results can be accessed at