Mount Lawley Open

The Mount Lawley Open was held on Sunday 27th October at Mount Lawley Primary School to raise funds to help send the Mount Lawley Primary School Chess Team to Canberra to represent WA in the Australian Schools Teams Championships.

The event attracted 63 players in three separate age divisions: 46 contestants in the under 10 division, 14 contestants in the under 13 division, and 3 contestants in the under 18 division. Having insufficient numbers to play a full 7 round event, the under 18s were combined with the under 13s.

The combined under 13/18 division was convincingly won by Rebo Fu with a perfect score of 7/7, who was awarded the under 18 first place trophy.

There was a 3-way tie for second place between Alex Pimenov, Jamie Laubbacher and Iker Hernandez. Jamie was awarded the second place under 18 trophy, while Alex and Iker had two blitz playoff games to determine the under 13 prizes. Alex prevailed and was awarded the first place under 13 trophy with Iker receiving the second place trophy.

There was a five-way tie for fifth place between Aaron Levine, Ishaan Barbare, Ram Manav Soni, Naftali Resnick and Rafael Levine. Ishaan and Aaron had the highest countbacks and by agreement took the under 18 and under 13 third place trophies respectively.

The under 10 division saw a 3-way tie between Daniel Levin, Anthony Nguyen and Raphael Resnick. After an exciting series of blitz playoff games, Anthony was awarded the first-place trophy, with Daniel taking second and Raphael third.

List of prize winners:

Under 18: 1st Rebo Fu – First place trophy

2nd Jamie Laubbacher – Second place trophy

=3rd Ishaan Barbare– Third place trophy

=3rd Rafael Levine – Merit trophy

Under 13: =1st Alex Pimenov – First place trophy

=1st Iker Hernandez – Second place trophy

=3rd Aaron Levine – Third place trophy

=3rd Ram Manav Soni – Merit trophy

=3rd Naftali Resnick – Merit trophy

Top Girl Emma Sommerfield – Medal

A medal was also awarded to Joshua Saragih.

Under 10: =1st Anthony Nguyen – First place trophy.

=1st Daniel Levin – Second place trophy.

=1st Raphael Resnick – Third place trophy.

=4th Finian Jordan – Merit Trophy

=4th Maxwell Castalanelli - Merit Trophy

=6th Darius Choo - Medal

=6th Nathan Arav - Medal

Top Girl Paula Gruber – Merit Trophy

=2ndGirl Kobe Wu – Medal

=2ndGirl Imogen Conway – Medal

=4thGirl Julia Ayliffe – Medal

=4thGirl Sarang Puddey – Medal

6thGirl Lucia Everitt – Medal

Medals were also awarded to: Ezra Levine, Huw Richards, Eric Young, Khristian Bacchelli-Khoo and James Somerfield.

Full tournament results can be accessed at