End Of Year Blitz

The 2019 End of Year Blitz Competition was held at Mount Lawley Primary School on Sunday 8th December and attracted 55 players. The tournament was one as one large Swiss event, with the age prizes going to the highest scoring player in each category.

The competition was convincingly won by Yihe (Rebo) Fu with a perfect score of 11/11 who took the first under 18 trophy and received a cash prize of $50. Second place went to Chas Underwood with a score of 9.5/11. In third place was Jamie Laubbacher with a score of 9/11.

Three players tied for 4th place on 7.5/11: Eu Jin Khaw, Joshua Saragih and Barath Harirajesh, who were awarded the under 14, under 12 and under 10 trophies respectively.

Ezra Levine and Hardy Dai tied for first under 8, with Ezra receiving the under 8 first place trophy due to a higher countback. The under 6 first place trophy was awarded to Eric Young.

Paula Gruber and Olivia Hou tied for top girl, each scoring 5/11. After countbacks were taken into account, Paula was awarded the under 18 girl trophy with Olivia receiving the under 12 trophy. The under 8 girls first place trophy was awarded to Michelle Chen.

Lastly, the trophy for the biggest upset was awarded to Paula Gruber for her round 6 win against Harry Geronimo.

List of prize winners:

1st Under 18 Yihe (Rebo) Fu – First place trophy.

2nd Under 18 Chas Underwood – Merit trophy.

3rd Under 18 Jamie Laubbacher – Merit trophy.

Top under 18 Girl Paula Gruber – Top Girl trophy.

1st Under 14 Eu Jin Khaw – First under 14 trophy.

1st Under 12 Joshua Saragih – First under 12 trophy.

=3rd Under 12 Harry Geronimo – Merit trophy.

=3rd Under 12 Ram Manav Soni – Merit trophy.

Top Under 12 Girl Olivia Hou – First Under 12 Girl trophy.

2nd Under 12 Girl Bianca Sader – Merit trophy.

1st Under 10 Barath Harirajesh – First under 10 trophy.

1st Under 8 Ezra Levine – First under 8 trophy.

2nd Under 8 Hardy Dai – Merit trophy

Top Under 8 Girl Michelle Chen – First under 8 Girl trophy.

1st Under 6 Eric Young – First under 6 trophy.

Biggest upset Paula Gruber – Biggest upset trophy.

Medals were awarded to Ishaan Barbare, Alex Pimenov and Eu Ming Khaw for very high countbacks.

A very special thank you should go to the following people:

Yihe (Rebo) Fu for taking the attendance at the door.

Bianca Sader for organising the board numbers as well as other various tasks throughout the afternoon.

The Snel family, who did a huge amount of work before the start of the event setting up tables and chairs.

Selena Khoo for her amazing job organising the refreshments.

And also a big thank you to all the many generous parents and players who helped clean up and pack away everything at the conclusion of the event.

Full tournament results can be accessed at