August Competition

The August Junior Chess Competition was held on the 25th August at Mount Lawley Primary School. The event attracted 83 players in three separate groups: 55 contestants in the under 10 division, 24 contestants in the under 13 division, and 4 contestants in the under 18 division. Having insufficient numbers to play a full 7 round event, the under 18s were combined with the under 13s.

The under 10 division was won by Daniel Levin with a perfect score of 7/7. There was a 3-way tie for second place between Jayden Arav, Timothy Kaempf and Albert Chen, all scoring 5.5/7. Jayden was awarded second place and Timothy third, based on countback.

The combined under 13/18 Division saw a 2-way tie for first place between Brent Geronimo and Harry Geronimo, both scoring 6/7. Brent was awarded the Under 18 prize, while Harry received the Under 13 Prize. There was a four-way tie for third place between Aaron Levine, Christopher Manasseh, Rafael Levine and Ram Manav Soni. After countback was taken into consideration, Aaron was awarded second place Under 13, Christopher second place Under 18, Rafael third place Under 18 and Ram took the Under 13 third place trophy.

List of prize winners:

Under 18:

1st Brent Geronimo – First place trophy.

=2nd Christopher Manasseh – Second place trophy.

=2nd Rafael Levine – Third place trophy.

4th Jamie Laubbacher – Merit trophy

Under 13:

1st Harry Geronimo – First place trophy.

=2nd Aaron Levine – Second place trophy.

=2nd Ram Manav Soni – Third place trophy.

Top Girl Ariella Schwarz – Merit trophy.

2nd Girl Anoushka Gupta – Medal

3rdGirl Daniella Thoo – Medal

Medals were also awarded to: Ishaan Barbare, Naftali Resnick, Nibesh Khatri and Hock Teh.

Under 10:

1st Daniel Levin – First place trophy.

=2nd Jayden Arav – Second place trophy.

=2nd Timothy Kaempf – Third place trophy.

=2nd Albert Chen – Merit Trophy

=5th Yonal De Vas - Merit Trophy

=5th Anthony Nguyen - Merit Trophy

=5th Tian Teh - Merit Trophy

=5th Maxwell Castalanelli - Merit Trophy

=5th Darcy Jordan - Merit Trophy

Top Girl Paula Gruber – Merit Trophy

2ndGirl Kobe Wu – Medal

3rdGirl Olivia Hou – Medal

=4thGirl Rika Balytsok – Medal

=4thGirl Natalie Levy – Medal

=4thGirl Chana Kitay – Medal

Medals were also awarded to: Orlando Salamastrakis, Eliav Posner, Nathan Arav, Jin The, Marcus Van Den Berg, James Sommerfield, Oz Caro, Isaac Li, Kael Bacchelli-Khoo, Finian Jordan, Edward Young, Jeremiah Ng, Ezra Levine and Senudi De Vas.

A very special thank you should go to all the many generous parents who helped both set up everything at the start of the event and helped pack away everything at the conclusion.

Full tournament results can be accessed at